What is NEET?

Estimated Reading Time: < 1 minute

The National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) is a national level medical entrance exam conducted by the National Testing Agency (NTA) for admission to undergraduate medical courses (MBBS) and dental courses (BDS) in government and private medical and dental colleges in India. It is the only entrance exam for admission to these courses, and all aspiring medical and dental students must appear for it.


To be eligible to appear for the NEET exam, you must have completed 10+2 or an equivalent examination with Physics, Chemistry, and Biology as your main subjects. You must also have secured a minimum of 50% marks in Physics, Chemistry, and Biology combined.

Exam pattern:

The NEET exam is conducted in an offline (pen and paper) mode. It consists of 180 multiple-choice questions from Physics, Chemistry, and Biology (Zoology and Botany). The duration of the exam is 3 hours. The exam is scored out of 720 marks. For each correct answer, you will be awarded 4 marks, and for each incorrect answer, 1 mark will be deducted.

Admission process:

After clearing the NEET exam, you need to participate in the counseling process conducted by the Medical Counselling Committee (MCC). You can choose the college and course that you want to apply to based on your rank and the availability of seats. After the counseling process is complete, you will be allotted a seat, and you can take admission to the college of your choice.

Important dates:

The NEET exam is generally conducted in the month of May every year. The exact date of the exam is announced by the National Testing Agency (NTA) on its official website. The application process for the NEET exam usually begins in the month of December, and the results are usually announced in the month of June.

Scroll to Top